Cricket in CWG 2022: What is the history of cricket in Commonwealth Games? The unique story of Barbados’ qualification

Cricket in CWG- India TV Hindi News
Image Source : GETTY
Cricket in CWG


  • Commonwealth Games 2022 to start from 28th July
  • Women’s cricket included in Commonwealth Games for the first time
  • Cricket match between 8 teams of the world

Cricket in CWG 2022: The Commonwealth Games are a multi-sport event held every four years (in between the Olympics). It consists of 72 countries and territories, most of which have been under British occupation at one time or another. The Commonwealth Games started as the British Umpire Games. The first edition of these games was held in Hamilton, Canada in 1930. Commonwealth Games 2022 is its 22nd edition.

When did cricket first become a part of the Commonwealth Games?

Cricket was first included in the Commonwealth Games in 1998. At that time it became a part of games with 50 over format, in which a total of 16 teams participated. For the first time, South Africa got the gold medal in cricket, which defeated Australia in the final. This time women’s cricket will be part of the Commonwealth Games for the first time.

Reason for organizing Commonwealth Games 2022 in Birmingham

Actually, the South African city of Durban was chosen as the venue of the Commonwealth Games 2022. The hosting rights of this edition were given to Birmingham in December 2017. South Africa had refused to organize the Games, citing its crippling economy.

Special dates related to Commonwealth Games 2022

The opening ceremony of the Commonwealth Games 2022 will be held on July 28 and the closing ceremony is scheduled for August 8. The Women’s Cricket Competition will start from 29th July and will continue till 7th August. India will take on Australia in their opening two matches on 29 July and Arch Rival Pakistan on 31 July.

Which countries are playing cricket in the games?

Women’s cricket will be contested in the Twenty-Twenty format in the 2022 Commonwealth Games. A total of 8 teams are participating in this, which are divided into 5 different groups. Teams included in Group A are Australia, India, Pakistan, Barbados. Whereas the teams included in Group B are England, New Zealand, South Africa and Sri Lanka.

What is the format of cricket competition in games?

Each team will play once against the other teams in their group and the top 2 teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals. The runner-up teams in both the semi-finals will advance to the bronze medal playoffs.

Where will cricket match in Commonwealth Games?

All cricket matches will be held in Edgbaston, a place known to the cricket world. It was here that Brian Lara made the first-class record of 501 not out. In 2005, England won the Ashes series here by 2 runs. Recently, England ended the Test series on a par by chasing runs against India and the first Women’s World Cup final in 1973 was also played here.

How did Barbados make its place?

According to the ICC rankings, West Indies were directly qualifying for the 2022 Games, but a tournament was planned to decide which of these Caribbean teams played in the Games. This tournament got canceled due to Kovid-19. Later, Barbados was given a place in the Commonwealth Games 2022 due to being the champion of the T20 tournament ‘T20 Blaze’ to be held in the West Indies.

Latest Cricket News

For more Daily Sports News stay tuned to INTV News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.