Independence Day 2022 How India was run between 1947 1950 29 months in absence of constitution

Constituent Assembly-India in the absence of constitution- India TV Hindi News
Image Source : TWITTER
Constituent Assembly-India in the absence of constitution


  • The country ran without a constitution for 29 months
  • Constituent Assembly was formed
  • Only the British system was implemented

Independence Day 2022: Independence Day is celebrated every year on the 15th of August with great pomp across the country. This year ‘Amrit Mahotsav’ is being celebrated on the occasion of 75th anniversary of independence. Which is taking the form of a mass movement and people from all walks of life and from every section of the society are participating in different programs related to it. Our country was liberated from the slavery of the British in the year 1947, since then this day is celebrated every year. People across the country are seen drenched in patriotism. The Constitution of our country came into force on January 26, 1950, 29 months after independence. Meanwhile, this question must have come in the minds of the people that how would our country have run from 1947 to 1950 without a constitution?

When the country became independent in 1947, it did not have its own constitution to govern. It was not even possible to make it in a day. In such a situation, the Constituent Assembly was formed and the Indian Independence Act-1947 was implemented till the constitution was made. Through this it was decided to run the country. In this, arrangements were made to use the Government of India Act 1935, which was passed in the British Parliament. It was also considered one of the largest legal documents passed in the British Parliament. Then it was decided to use this Act in place of the Constitution.

Constitution prepared in two years

The Constituent Assembly started its work on 9 December 1947. Its members were elected by the elected members of the state assemblies of India. Prominent members of the Sabha included Jawaharlal Nehru, Dr. Rajendra Prasad, Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, Syama Prasad Mookerjee and Maulana Abul Kalam Azad. At the same time, more than 30 members of the Scheduled Castes were included in it. Satchidananda Prasad was the first chairman of the Constituent Assembly. But later Dr. Rajendra Prasad was elected to the post of Chairman. At the same time, Babasaheb Ambedkar was made the chairman of the draft committee. The Constituent Assembly prepared the Constitution of the country after meeting for 2 years 18 months and 166 days. The special feature of these meetings was that the press and the general public were given freedom to participate in them.

Even after the independence of the country, the post of Governor General was retained in place of the President. However, he was not given the same powers as the President. Lord Mountbatten remained in the position of Governor General. In June 1948, when he had this post, C Rajagopalachari was appointed to the post. He is said to be the first and last Indian Governor General. Then in 1950 the constitution came into force and the post of Governor General was abolished. Simultaneously, the supreme power was handed over to the President.

Some British systems remained

The Cabinet Mission was formed in 1946 even before independence. Later the assembly was formed. Through them the system of governance in British India was carried forward. Jawaharlal Nehru was elected as the interim Prime Minister. At the same time, laws like the Indian Panel Code of 1860 were implemented to govern the country. The civil servants and armed forces established during the British rule were continued to run the present system. India and Pakistan were divided but the paths were quite different. India became a democratic country after independence. Whereas democracy itself remained very weak in Pakistan.

Latest India News

For more news stay tuned to INTV News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.