Jagdeep Dhankhar became the 14th Vice President of the country, defeating the opposition candidate Margaret Alva. Jagdeep Dhankhar became the 14th Vice President of the country, defeating the opposition candidate Ma

Jagdeep Dhankhar became the 14th Vice President of India- India TV Hindi News

Jagdeep Dhankhar became the 14th Vice President of India


  • Jagdeep Dhankhar appointed as the new Vice President
  • Dhankhar became the 14th Vice President of the country
  • Dhankhar got 528 votes while Alva got only 182 votes

India New Vice President: NDA candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar defeated his closest rival and joint opposition candidate Margaret Alva in the Vice Presidential election held on Saturday. In this way Dhankhar has become the new Vice President of the country. In the election, NDA candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar got 528 votes while opposition candidate Margaret Alva got only 182 votes. Let us tell you that 15 illegal votes were also cast in this election. Dhankhar’s victory in the election was considered certain as he had got support from the parties of the opposition apart from the parties of NDA. It is a coincidence that after Jagdeep Dhankhar became the Vice President, both the Speaker of the Lok Sabha and the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha are from the same state. All MPs of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, including nominated members, are eligible to vote in the Vice-President’s election.

Dhankhar’s claim was already strong

NDA candidate and former West Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar’s claim was already strong. Already in this election, the atmosphere was one sided in favor of Dhankhar. The opposition’s joint candidate Margaret Alva (80) was not visible in his contest. In fact, the ruling BJP has an absolute majority in the Lok Sabha and with 91 members in the Rajya Sabha, victory was easy for Dhankhar. He will replace current Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu, whose term ends on August 10.

About 93 percent of MPs voted

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Union Home Minister Amit Shah and Congress President Sonia Gandhi voted on Saturday to elect the next Vice President of India. At the same time, there were more than 50 MPs who did not exercise their franchise. Officials said that by the time the polling concluded at 5 pm, 725 out of the total 780 MPs had cast their votes. Let us tell that the total number of members of both the houses of Parliament together is 788, out of which 8 seats in Rajya Sabha are vacant.

Trinamool Congress did ‘boycott’

The Trinamool Congress had already announced that it would abstain from voting, but only two TMC MPs have cast their votes in the Vice-President’s election. Most of the more than 50 MPs who did not cast their votes were from this party. The Trinamool Congress has a total of 39 MPs in both the houses. The prospects of the opposition’s joint candidate Alva had suffered a major setback after Mamata Banerjee’s party pulled back. At the same time, this decision of Mamta is also being seen as a big split in the united opposition.

Latest India News

For more news stay tuned to INTV News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.