Jammu and Kashmir Congress appeals to PM Modi, announce to give full state to Jammu and Kashmir on 15th August

India TV Hindi News
Image Source : PTI


  • Congress appeals to PM Modi
  • ‘PM Modi to make a big announcement from the ramparts of Red Fort on August 15’
  • ‘Announce to give full state to Jammu and Kashmir and hold elections’

Jammu and Kashmir: The Jammu and Kashmir unit of the Congress on Tuesday urged Prime Minister Narendra Modi to announce full statehood to the Union Territory and hold elections there in his address from the Red Fort on August 15. Jammu and Kashmir Congress leader GA Mir said the party would take out a 75-km long ‘padayatra’ in every district of the country to mark 75 years of independence. He told that ‘Tiranga Yatra’ will also be taken out in many areas of Jammu and Kashmir from August 9 to 14. Mir said the Congress has requested Prime Minister Modi to hold assembly elections at the earliest, besides announcing full statehood to Jammu and Kashmir from the ramparts of the Red Fort on August 15.

On August 5, 2019, the country’s Home Minister Amit Shah announced the historic decision. That decision was to abolish Article 370 from Jammu and Kashmir. After which Jammu and Kashmir was divided into two union territories.

delimitation report issued

Let us tell you, in the month of May this year, the Delimitation Commission had released the final report on the delimitation of assembly constituencies of the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir. With the release of the report, the way has been cleared for the assembly elections to be held here. In the report of the commission, 6 seats in Jammu division and 1 assembly seat in Kashmir division have been increased. For the first time in the report of the Delimitation Commission in Jammu and Kashmir, 9 seats have been reserved for the Scheduled Tribes, while there are 7 assembly seats for the Scheduled Castes as before. This is happening for the first time when all the five parliamentary seats have been divided equally. With the completion of the delimitation process, there will be an increase in seven assembly seats. In the report, 6 assembly seats have been increased in Jammu division and 1 assembly seat in Kashmir division.

Of the 90 assembly seats, 43 are in the Jammu and 47 in the Kashmir region. Additional seats have been recommended for displaced Kashmiris and migrants. Which means that Kashmiri Pandits and POJK (Pakistan-occupied Jammu and Kashmir) displaced people can get representation in the new assembly of the Valley.

Latest India News

For more news stay tuned to INTV News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.