Manipur News Five JDU MLAs join ruling BJP

Five JDU MLAs join ruling BJP in Manipur - India TV Hindi News
Image Source : FILE PHOTO
Five JDU MLAs join ruling BJP in Manipur

Manipur News: Five MLAs of Janata Dal United (JDU) in Manipur on Friday joined the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). A statement issued by Manipur Legislative Assembly Secretary K Meghjit Singh said that the Speaker expressed happiness in accepting the merger of five JDU MLAs with the BJP under the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution.

5 out of 6 JDU MLAs went to BJP

The JD(U) had fielded candidates on 38 seats in the assembly elections in March this year, out of which six won. The JDU MLAs who joined the BJP include KH Joykishan, N Sanate, Mohammad Achhabuddin, former Director General of Police A M Khoute and Thangjam Arunkumar. Khaute and Arunkumar had demanded ticket from BJP in the assembly elections, but after not getting success, both had joined JDU.

Supported BJP for government formation
Significantly, the Janata Dal (United), which won six seats in the assembly elections held in Manipur in March, extended its support to the BJP to form the government. However, in the election, the BJP had secured the necessary seats for the majority. The JD(U) had said in a statement, “In the interest of the people of Manipur, the JD(U) has decided to extend support to the BJP for the formation of the government.” u) Appeal to the BJP to respect the mandate given to the party and fulfill the hopes and aspirations of the people.” In the assembly elections held this year, the BJP retained power by winning 32 seats in the 60-member assembly.

Latest India News

For more news stay tuned to INTV News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.