Punjab Kings reappointed Former Cricketer Wasim Jaffer as their batting coach ahead of IPL 2023 mini auction

Punjab Kings, IPL 2023, ipl auction - India TV Hindi News

Punjab Kings

IPL 2023: The Punjab Kings team has made three more changes for the 16th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL). The Punjab team, which is famous for changes every year, has changed from coach to captain before the new season in 2023 and has also released many players.

Punjab has also made changes in the coaching staff after removing their captain Mayank Agarwal from last season. The team has also brought back former South African fast bowler Charl Langeveldt as the bowling coach, apart from re-appointing former Indian cricketer Wasim Jaffer as their batting coach. Whereas, under the third change, former Australian wicketkeeper Brad Haddin has been appointed as the assistant coach of the team.

Jaffer was the batting coach for two years

It is worth mentioning that former Indian opener Wasim Jaffer was earlier the batting coach of Punjab from 2019 to 2021 but after becoming the coach of the Odisha Ranji team in domestic cricket, he resigned from his post before the mega auction in 2022. At the same time, Langeveldt was the team’s bowling coach in 2020 but was replaced by Damian Wright in 2021.

Punjab also changed captain and coach

Talking about other major changes in the Punjab team, the franchise did not extend Anil Kumble’s tenure and in September decided to replace Australia’s Trevor Bayliss as the head coach. At the same time, after removing Mayank Agarwal from the captaincy, he was also released from the team. Later, senior player Shikhar Dhawan was appointed as the new captain in his place.

Mayank and Smith released

Ahead of the mini auction to be held in Kochi in December, the team decided to release nine players including Mayank Agarwal and Odion Smith and increase their purse. Punjab currently has Rs 32.2 crore, while there are 16 players in the squad.

Current Punjab team:

Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Shah Rukh Khan, Jonny Bairstow, Prabhsimran Singh, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Jitesh Sharma, Raj Bawa, Rishi Dhawan, Liam Livingstone, Atharva Taide, Arshdeep Singh, Baltej Singh, Nathan Ellis, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Harpreet Brar

Latest Cricket News

For more Daily Sports News stay tuned to INTV News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *