T20 World Cup 2022: In case of semifinals matches abandoned due to rain, India and New Zealand will reach finals, check the ICC Rules

ICC T20 world cup, ind vs eng, indian cricket team - India TV Hindi News

Image Source : ICC
ICC T20 World Cup 2022

ICC T20 world cup: The caravan of the T20 World Cup 2022, released on Australian soil, has reached its last stop. This war, which started between 16 teams, has now been reduced to only four. Teams of India, Pakistan, England and New Zealand have reached the knockout rounds after qualifying from the volatile Super 12 stage. However, for these teams standing two wins away from the title, the road ahead is not going to be so easy.

All teams will have to keep an eye on the weather in addition to their game in the semi-finals. This is because rain has spoiled the game of many teams in this time’s World Cup and looking at Australia’s weather, it is likely to happen further.

Four matches in Super 12 canceled due to rain

Four matches in the Super 12 stage of the World Cup were canceled due to rain, while the results of three matches were determined on the basis of the Duckworth-Lewis rule. In such a situation, the weather here is the biggest challenge for all the teams at the moment. By the way, every fan would like that both the semi-final matches are completed without any interruption and they get to see a good match. However, if the match has to be canceled due to rain or any reason, then it will benefit India and New Zealand.

India-New Zealand may be the final

In fact, according to the rules of the ICC, in the event of the semi-final match being canceled, in the Super 12 stage, the title i.e. final match will be played between the top teams from both the groups. In such a situation, Group 2 topper India and Group 1 ranked first New Zealand team will go straight to the final.

Knockout matches have reserve day option

However, the ICC has also kept an option for the semi-finals. In fact, there was no reserve day for any match in the Super 12 round, but arrangements have been made for knockout matches (semi-finals and finals). That is, if a match is not held on its scheduled date, then it can be played on the next day. Apart from this, matches can also be played with fewer overs for the result.

Semi-Final Schedule

The first semi-final between Pakistan and New Zealand will be played in Sydney on November 9 while the second semi-final between India and England will be played in Adelaide on November 10.

Squads of all four teams:

  • IndiaRohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Shami.

Standby players: Mohammad Siraj, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Shardul Thakur

  • England, Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Harry Brooks, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, David Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Tymal Mills, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Alex Hales

Standby players: Liam Dawson, Richard Gleason

  • Pakistan, Babar Azam (Captain), Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Mohammad Haris, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood.

Standby players: Usman Qadir, Shahnawaz Dahani

  • New Zealand, Kane Williamson (c), Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Mitchell Santner, Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Daryl Mitchell, Adam Milne, Martin Guptill, Lockie Ferguson, Devon Conway, Mark Chapman, Trent Boult, Finn Allen

Latest Cricket News

For more Daily Sports News stay tuned to INTV News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *