Vice Presidential election Mayawati supported BJP candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar

Jagdeep Dhankhar - India TV Hindi News
Image Source : PTI
Mayawati supported Jagdeep Dhankhar


  • Opposition also suffered a setback in the Vice Presidential election
  • Mayawati extends support to BJP candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar
  • Margaret Alva is the joint candidate of the opposition

Vice President Election: BSP Chief Mayawati has given her support to NDA candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar in the Vice Presidential election, giving a jolt to the opposition. He made a formal announcement of this in a series of tweets on Wednesday. Mayawati tweeted, “Keeping in mind the wider public interest and my campaign in the election for the post of Vice President, have decided to extend my support to Jagdeep Dhankhar and I am making a formal announcement today.” Mayawati tweeted another The tweet read, “It is well known that due to the lack of consensus between the power and the opposition in the election for the post of President of the country, the election was finally held for it. Elections will be held on August.”

Opposition’s joint candidate Margaret Alva shocked

It was believed that being Margaret Alva’s woman, Mayawati might support her. But it did not happen, Mayawati took her decision after thinking and gave her support to the winning candidate. Talking about Margaret Alva, she has been the General Secretary of the Congress Party. Apart from this, from 1974 to 2004, she was also an MP for 5 times. He also worked as a minister of state for important departments in the central government. While being an MP, he played an effective role in passing many laws for women’s welfare. She made a valuable contribution in the process of making blue print of policies related to women empowerment and getting them accepted by the Central and State Governments. Not only in the country but also abroad, she worked for human freedom and women’s interests. The President of South Africa also honored him with a national honor. She served as the first woman governor of Uttarakhand from 6 August 2009 to 14 May 2012. She is the Governor of Rajasthan since 12 May 2012.

election of vice president

The Vice-President is also elected through the Electoral College on the lines of the Presidential election. The person elected to this post is the choice of the people’s representatives. Nominated MPs cannot vote in the presidential election, but this is not the case in the vice-presidential election. Nominated members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha can also vote in the Vice Presidential election. In this way, 790 members of both the houses participate in voting in the Vice Presidential election.

Latest India News

For more news stay tuned to INTV News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.