Vijay Hazare Trophy: Gabbar roared before taking off for New Zealand, Rahane also swung the bat fiercely

Akinkay Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan - India TV Hindi News

Image Source : GETTY
Akinkay Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022: Delhi team started their campaign in Vijay Hazare Trophy with a win. In the match against Vidarbha in Kolkata, its two experienced cricketers performed brilliantly for Delhi. In another match, Mumbai defeated Bengal in their first match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Mumbai’s spin bowler Tanush Kotian became the biggest star of victory in this match in Ranchi.

Ishant Sharma shines in Delhi’s win against Vidarbha

Senior pacer Ishant Sharma and swashbuckling batsman Shikhar Dhawan made significant contributions as Delhi thrashed Vidarbha by five wickets in the opening match on Saturday. Delhi team won the toss in this Group B match and decided to bowl first. Ishant took three wickets for 24 runs and Vidarbha was bundled out for 207 runs. Ganesh Satish scored the highest 45 runs in 74 balls for Vidarbha.

Good batting by Dhawan before flying to New Zealand

Delhi had a small target of 208 runs to win, which they achieved in 44.5 overs. Opener Shikhar Dhawan scored 47 runs in 64 balls for Delhi. Let us tell you that Dhawan, who plays only in ODIs for India, will captain the national team in three matches in New Zealand later this month. All-rounder Lalit Yadav remained unbeaten on 56 off 73 balls. Batting at number three, Yash Dhul scored 37 runs in 27 balls.

Bengal team entangled in Kotian’s spin

Mumbai won the toss and elected to bowl against Bengal in Ranchi. Mumbai’s off-spinner Tanush Kotiyan made four Bengal batsmen walk for 31 runs. This is the best performance of his career. Kotian’s performance made this Vijay Hazare Trophy match largely one-sided for Mumbai. Mumbai registered an eight-wicket win over Bengal in Group E match. Tushar Deshpande took two wickets and Mohit Awasthi took one wicket while Shams Mulani got two wickets. The entire team of Bengal returned to the pavilion for 121 runs in just 31.3 overs. Manoj Tiwary scored 47 runs in 64 balls for Bengal but wickets kept falling from the other end.

Ajinkya Rahane played half century innings

In reply, Mumbai captain Ajinkya Rahane scored an unbeaten 59 off 72 balls with the help of six fours and two sixes. Prithvi Shaw scored 26 and Yashasvi Jaiswal scored 10 which was dismissed early by Bengal pacer Mukesh Kumar. But Rahane and Hardik Tamor (18 not out) shared an unbroken 75-run partnership. Mumbai chased down the target in 30.2 overs.

Latest Cricket News

Breaking news in Hindi Hindi News on India TV Read the latest news, live news updates and special stories from India and abroad and keep yourself up-to-date. Click for Cricket News in Hindi Sports Section

For more Daily Sports News stay tuned to INTV News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *