Who are these Anglo Indians? Who are these Anglo Indians How much do you know about them?

Anglo Indian - India TV Hindi News
Image Source : India TV
Anglo Indian


  • Employees belonged to European countries
  • Only West Bengal has 9 Anglo Indian members
  • There is not a single member of Anglo Indian in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand

Anglo Indian: Whenever Lok Sabha elections are held in India, MPs reach the House by choosing from the areas. There are two such members who are not elected from any region. They belong to a particular community who are directly elected by the President. If you are thinking of Anglo Indian then you are thinking right. Today we will discuss about Anglo Indian. What is the history of Anglo Indian and why 2 seats were reserved in Lok Sabha.

Who are Anglo Indians?

Anglo Indian means an Indian whose father’s descendants belong to European countries. It is said that the term Anglo Indian was given by British citizens. When our country was ruled by the British, at the same time railway tracks were being laid in India and more workers working in them belonged to European countries. After this he settled in India and got married here. Now all the children born to them were called Anglo Indians.

How many Anglo Indians are there in India?

According to Census 2011, Anglo Indian has 296 members. On the other hand, All India Anglo Indian Association had raised objection by writing a letter to the then Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad. The president of this organization also wrote a letter to the Prime Minister. While writing the letter, he said that only in West Bengal there are 9 members of Anglo-Indians. Speaker Barry O’Brien said that according to the census, there is not a single member of Anglo Indian in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand, while there are Anglo Indians in many assembly constituencies. Barry O’Brien said that our number is in the millions. Barry O’Brien is the leader of BJP and his elder brother is the leader of TMC.

Two seats were reserved in both the houses.

2 seats were reserved in the Lok Sabha. You knew that there are a total of 545 seats in the Lok Sabha, out of which Anglo Indian MPs were elected by the President on 2 seats. In the same Jio also, the Governor has the right to make Anglo Indians members in the assembly, although it has to be seen whether any one Anglo Indian has won the assembly elections or not. Let us tell you that if they are nominated by the President, then they do not have the right in the presidential election to make this election. Let us tell you that in 2019, the Modi government abolished both these reserved seats. The reservation period for these seats has expired. And they were not extended further. Both George Baker and Richard O Anglo were the last Anglo-Indian parliamentarians.

Latest India News

For more news stay tuned to INTV News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.